National Junior Womens Team Named

New Zealand Water Polo has named the 2019 Junior Womens team, who will be competing at the 2019 FINA World Women’s Junior Water Polo Championships in Funchal, Portugal later this year.

The squad features three Blue Diamonds: Libby Gault, Emmerson Houghton and Gabby MacDonald – well done ladies!

Read what New Zealand Water Polo had to say about the announcement:

Head coach Megan Thomson said the selection progress was very tough due to the calibre of the players at this level in New Zealand.

“The team has a great mix of players who have senior international experience, youth international experience with some exciting athletes making their debuts.”

The side will be spearheaded by five players from the 2019 FINA World League senior women’s team; Libby Alsemgeest, Shinae Carrington, Emmerson Houghton, Gabby MacDonald, and Gabby Milicich.

“The experience of playing at the FINA World league will have helped prepare the girls to play a higher level of competition than what is available in New Zealand.”

New Zealand have been drawn in Group D along with Greece, Canada and China.

Full Squad:
Elizabeth Alsemgeest (Atlantis City)
Shinae Carrington (Tauranga)
Lucia Doak (North Harbour)
Elizabeth Gault (Waitakere)
Ella Harford (Marist)
Charlotte Hooke (Atlantis City)
Emmerson Houghton (Waitakere)
Gabriella MacDonald (Waitakere)
Gabrielle Milicich (Marist)
Georgia Milne (Atlantis City)
Ella Pollock (Atlantis City)
Sophie Shorter-Robinson (Atlantis City)
Clodagh Weir (North Harbour)

Head Coach: Megan Thomson