FINA World Champs: Teams Announced

New Zealand Water Polo has named the teams for the 18th FINA World Water Polo Championships, to be held in Gwangju, Korea in July. Six Waitakere Senior players feature in the team lists, and one Waitakere coach.

Congratulations to Anton Sunde, Sean Newcombe, Sid Dymond, Nick Stankovich, Emmerson Houghton, Grace Tobin and Davor Carevic who will all be donning the fern in a month’s time. These players have all been working incredibly hard throughout this year with National Teams training on top of the Auckland League and National League programs.


Here’s what New Zealand Water Polo had to say about the announcement:

New Zealand Water Polo (NZWP) has today named the New Zealand men’s and women’s water polo teams that will compete at the 18th FINA World Championships being held in Gwangju, Korea from July 12th – 28th 2019. 

Following a weekend of selection camps in Auckland, the men’s and women’s squads were narrowed to 13 players each.

The women’s team is an excellent mix of experience and youthful exuberance. It is comprised of athletes playing in the USA College system, as well as local players who are currently in the peak of the 2019 Honda National League Season.

Amongst the women’s side is new, New Zealand cap Amanda Lemon (Tauranga). Lemon is a seasoned international player, having represented the USA as part of the 2006 Junior Women’s National Team. In 2006 she successfully aided her teams silver medal placings at the Six Nations Tournament in Italy and the Pythia Cup in Greece. Lemon became available for New Zealand selection earlier this year.

The men also welcome debutant Louis Clark (Canterbury) into a highly experienced side.

New Zealand Water Polo’s High-Performance Manager, Kurt Goldsworthy, said the Kiwis have a big tournament ahead of them.

“Our teams will be aiming to advance from their respective pools into top eight qualifying matches. If achieved this will a remarkable outcome given the quality of their opponents.” Goldsworthy said.

“We are extremely excited for our teams attending the 2019 FINA pinnacle event and look forward to some great results.”

The water polo schedule will run from the 14th- 27th July, in Gwangju, Korea with the medal matches to be held on the 26th (women) and 27th (men) July.